Honoris Causa

Created in 1918, the title of doctor honoris causa is one of the most prestigious distinctions awarded by French universities to honour "personalities of foreign nationality for eminent services rendered to the sciences, letters or the arts, to France and to the university".

Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo

President of the Republic of Ghana

10 October 2022

Gesine Schwan 

Academic (Romance linguistics, history, philosophy and political science at Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt Oder) and German politician

10 December 2018

David Schmeidler

Israeli mathematician and economic theorist (Tel Aviv University)

10 December 2018

Natalie Zemon Davis

Canadian historian, specialist in the cultural and social history of 16th and 17th century France and the modern era (University of California, Berkeley and Princeton University)

10 December 2018

Juan Manuel Santos

President of the Republic of Colombia, Nobel Peace Prize winner

23 June 2017

Ban Ki-moon

Secretary-General of the United Nations

25 June 2016

Béji Caïd Essebsi

President of the Republic of Tunisia

7 April 2015

Amartya Sen

1998 Nobel Prize in Economics

14 May 2007

James Richard Crawford

Whewell Chair - Professor of International Law at the University of Cambridge

3rd May 2007

Daniel Kahneman

Nobel Prize in Economics 2002

5th July 2006

Juan Somavia

Director-General of the International Labour Organisation

23 May 2003

Francesco Rosi

Film director

5 April 2002

Mikhail Gorbachev

Former President of the USSR

12 December 2001

William J. Baumol

Professor Emeritus of Princeton University

Ulrich Hübner

Dean of the Faculty of Law, Cologne - Professor of Insurance Law

Otto Gerhard Oexle

Director of the Max Planck Institute for History in Göttingen

Juan Alejandro Tobias

Professor of Philosophy, Rector of the University of El Salvador

28 September 2001

Abdurrahman Wahid

President of the Republic of Indonesia

14th June 2000

Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne Honoris Causa around the world